a note of gratitude and thank you – Liebster, Kreative Blogger, Versatile Blogger & 7 super shots

Over the last few months, many of you have been very kind to me and my blog and showered it with quite a few nominations – the ‘Liebster’, ‘Kreative Blogger’, ‘Versatile Blogger’ and ‘7 Super Shots’ (this category might seem out-of-place, but read on for why I grouped along). I am extremely honored and delighted that you chose my blog in your lists. Special thanks go to Otto Von Munchow, Emilino Emloile, Ashely Paige, Kathryn, David Heilman, Mufidah Kassalias and every other person who remembered me (forgive me if forgot to mention you – blame it on my fading memory)

That I took so long to respond, means nothing other than that I am lazy and while I like to think I am quite adept at photos, I am quite challenged when it comes to writing. In fact, statistically speaking this will be the most I’ve ever written here – my lengthiest post ever :)

I know I am probably being lazy in bunching all of these together, but if you look at it one way, all of these awards aim to acknowledge fellow bloggers out there and contribute to help them get connected with something they might like or love as much as I do. The other objective (and this is the part I don’t like and the real reason why I was procrastinating ;)) is to give out my secrets. The 7 Super Shots is a bit of revealing that – especially for a ‘picture taker’ and hence I grouped it here. Not a convincing enough ?

It is hard work to come up with a list of bloggers and their blogs that I would like to nominate (will try to hopefully stick with some of the rules for these awards but don’t kill me if I missed or broke any rule here, please). Before I do, I wanted to clarify a few things. I read and follow many creative and interesting blogs and it would be wrong to judge that only these below in the list are good. What is good, what I think is good is all subjective and dynamic. It is also not fair to try and classify them in the order of their importance or creativity or any such criterion. Like each person, each blog is unique and I love the diversity that comes along with it. If I had only blogs like mine to read, I would have been bored to death by now. With this in mind, here are my nominations:

Versatile Bloggers:

Liebester Bloggers:

Kreativ Bloggers:

I would highly recommend checking out these bloggers and their work. They inspire me and I am sure you will enjoy browsing their work. One of the rules was to try and nominate those who are not yet nominated , so if your blog doesn’t list here, don’t lose heart, it either means that you are already recognized and/or will be recognized soon or I am a lousy judge !

Moving onto the 7 Super Shots,  HostelBookers.com put out the call to select 7 of your favorite photographs, one for each of the following categories, then tag 5 bloggers that you would like to take part. Here are my 7 shots with a small-sized preview (to keep this unusually long post by now from getting any longer). I have put links in the description should you be tempted to to check out the individual blogs entries.

1. A photo that…takes my breath away

I have had the fortune of witnessing many a breath taking moments, sunrises, sunsets and in-between’s that it is hard to pick just one. But a job has to be done, so here I chose a photo of Picture Lake before sunrise when it was bathed in beautiful Light.

2. A photo that…makes me laugh or smile

this one made me really search long. There are a few portraits that might fall in the ‘makes me smile’ category but not many in the ‘makes me laugh’ category. Point to self – search for humor in photographs more often. In the end I came up with this wall graffiti from Fremantle, Perth

3. A photo that…makes me dream

It will probably sound cliched and unsurprising if I mention a Taj Mahal photograph in this category here. It is a thing of beauty and a dream ‘must-visit’ for many. What makes it more apt here is that I had the misfortune of being in Agra on a Friday-  the only day when Taj is closed from public viewing. Hence it remained elusive and this BW silhouette of Taj from banks of Yamuna, haunts me in my dreams to come visit it soon :)

4. A photo that…makes me thinkth

a lot of photos gets me thinking. I would like to think almost all photos makes me think :) but then when I come down to really thinking what makes me think, I interpret this as an image that has some mystery. This candid, taken in Sikkim is of a school going boy who lived in the house next to where we stayed. It is hard to say looking at this, if he loves or hates going to his school.

5. A photo that…makes my mouth water

Finding this was easy and hard. Hard because I hardly ever shoot food photos. Time to take out the notebook to take notes again :) I could find only one post that came close. Having nothing to compare against, it was easy to pick. Summer in India can be punishing and dollops of Water Melon on a hot day can do wonders, including watering your mouth even before u dig in

Standing out from the crowd

6. A photo that…tells a story

There is a story in this candid of kids in Fatehpur Sikri for sure. The story however is subject to your own interpretation and imagination.

7. A photo that…I am most proud of (aka my worthy of National Geographic shot)

Nat-Geo worthy – no way. none, the next picture I am going to take maybe :)  Photos that I am proud of, now that’s a different story altogether. There are many and the choice for ‘the one’ depends on the time of the day, the day of the year and among many things what theme dominates my mind at that moment. These days I’ve been gradually getting more interested in documentary and human stories so my answer will tend to have a bias. I looked really hard and went back to the landscapes (which is where I began with) and there were many contenders. I finally chose one what brings back memories of a warm summer day in Australia

That concludes my post (yay ! finally). Thank you Kathryn for tagging me for the 7 super shots series. It turned out to be a lot of fun, more than I expected . I am not going to tag anybody specifically for this, but I would encourage everybody I’ve nominated above to come up with your ‘top 7 shots’,  your own time and convenience.

36 thoughts on “a note of gratitude and thank you – Liebster, Kreative Blogger, Versatile Blogger & 7 super shots

  1. Pingback: It’s Time to Give Back (Blog Awards) « A drifter off to see the world

  2. Pingback: Six Months – Awards « burnt embers

    • You are welcome. I enjoy your street photos and find them inspiring especially now that I am trying more of those myself , and hence the nomination. Congratulations !

  3. Thank you for the Kreativ nomination! I am really surprised and also really happy, particularly since I am pretty new to this blogging having started using WordPress about a year ago.

    Cheers!

  4. I don’t understand why you consider yourself as “quite challenged when it comes to writing.” This is entertaining! As for the 7 photos, wow!, as usual. I especially like the Sikkim one. For a single shot, it encourages a lot of thoughts needed to be pondered. Keep up the good work! And believe me, your blog makes the internet less boring hehehe.

    • Thank you Dahlia. You are very generous in your praise. there is a reason I stick with photos and keep my writing to the minimum. However with gradual practise, and adding a few lines to every post, writing will tend to improve – this idea seems to be working , isn’t it ? ;)

      I am glad you liked the photos.Sikkim trip was a memorable one.I’ve been there twice and I am not satiated yet !

  5. Thank you so much for the nomination! :)
    I think your idea of nominating people who have not been nominated so far is awesome! It is very encouraging for the newbies in the blog world :)
    Also, lovely post!

    • You are welcome studiojan. I was nominated on the same philosophy and we all started as newbies at some point :)
      But I enjoy reading your blog and your creative self portraits, the mix of reality and dream effect you bring, something new to the table.

    • You are welcome Melanie. I think your blog and your photographs are truly versatile which is why you are in that list :)
      Glad you enjoyed the post as much as I enjoyed writing it. I look forward to your future posts.

  6. You deserve every award! :)

    Thank you so much for nominating me.. This coming from a great photographer like you is huge for me. :) I truly appreciate it. A big THANK YOU! :) :)

    And now I’ll check out your best 7!

    • Thank you Nandini. each like/comment from fellow blogger is equivalent to an award, but yes it is good fun to circulate these awards around. And you should try this ‘7 super shots’ (no I don’t have any affiliations with any of the links) as it was was a creative exercise trying to go through your posts. I am pretty sure if I do this same exercise 1 week later when I have more time , i might come up with different results !

  7. Thank you for your kind words and for including me in your Versatile Bloggers list. You’re doing some great work and improving all the time. I like the images you have included here, especially the landscapes which are really superb! Keep up the good work!

    • I have not read the fineprints but even if I go by common sense, you would definitely qualify as a Versatile Blogger, so Congratulations to you !

      and thank-you for your continued appreciation.

  8. Thanks so much for the award – I really appreciate it. I too have a number of awards that are stacking up and about which I have been getting a post ready for a month or two now. Its quite a lot of work. And decisions need to be made. I have added you to that post, and one day will get it out there. :) Thanks again, I really appreciate it.

      • Thank you and Congratulations on being a Versatile Blogger. I wasn’t a very big fan of these whole award/nomination thing, and was worried about having to reply to each of them. As part of compiling this post, I realized it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. In fact it was kind of fun. I took a break from my posting pattern, something I have kind of done unchanged for the past 2 years. Maybe i wasn’t too comfortable changing it.

        And btw, I don’t remember which of these have a rule, that you try to add new people, the one’s not nominated yet, so you need to strike me off and add some other deserving blogger there :)

    • I am glad you did. Honestly speaking I didn’t expect it would be as much fun as it turned out to be. I was worried about coming up with a response with all these nominations stacking up and I took the easy route out I think. Hope you don’t mind :)

      As for Liebester, I am sorry that I didn’t explain it but here’s a snippet of the rules(if you haven’t found out by now)

      The Liebster Blog Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. “Liebster” is German and it means “Dearest” or “Beloved.” But, at the same time it can also mean “Favorite.”

      The rules for The Liebster Award:
      1) Thank the fellow blogger who awarded it to you
      2) Link back to said blogger
      3) Post the award onto your blog
      4) Pick 5 other blogs you want to recognise
      5) Let them know they’ve been chosen!

Leave a Reply

