waterscape – abstract #1

named after the native Indian tribe Wenatchi (which itself means river which comes [or whose source is] from canyons). A river can be a healer or a destroyer or sometimes both. To me this river at this moment made its presence felt and I felt some sort of healing power.

For other posts involving composing with water, do check here

have added a border here which is something I have tried before and given up. I still don’t know for sure if I like them. Would love to hear if you love (or hate) borders and why. Also welcome are any useful tips for when to add borders (or when not to) ?

12 thoughts on “waterscape – abstract #1

  1. Beautiful. Reminds me of some of Richter’s ocean paintings. They are very contrasty and striking. Wish I would have read about composing with water before I left for the beach! Oh well, I’ll check it out before I go back in July, definitely. The black and white works really well here to bring out the lines and dimension. Did you add the border to the photo itself, or just on the blog? My answer would be different for each one. On the photo itself, I think there’s a good argument for them if you present your work digitally. The frame can add a sense of refinement, so maybe it depends on the image too. If you’ve got an image that is more raw or candid, the frame may not be necessary. On the blog, I use one because I feel it directs the viewers eye to the photo, instead of the sidebars and other tabs and things.

    • Thank you Jennifer for your thoughtful comment and sharing your perspective on borders. Regarding the choice of BW , you are right, It was to enhance the contrast (original exposure was almost a monochrome). The water flow was very dynamic and strong and at this point in the river, a section of a mini wave was flipping back (left of the frame), was more dynamic, and hence gathered more light and is brighter.

      So the border is in PP of the image itself (not the blog) but the use of a white border blends with my theme background so the boundaries are not so obvious (something I realized only after posting). If you look at the earthscape image (palouse rolling hill) I added a 1 px black outer border to an otherwise similar border which makes it more obvious imo. As long as a border is added with a conscious purpose in mind (helps with drawing attention or directing the eye as you mentioned) it helps. I’ve been guilty in the past of not being choosy enough :)

    • Thank you David. I had a few at different exposures with increasing exposure time. The most interesting result turned out to be the one without any filter as it had just the right amount of dynamism (faster shutter speed) and surrealism (slower shutter speed)

    • Thanks. I will take that as a compliment :). IMO a successful photograph is generally uncomplicated and simple. At the end of the day the result matters,not how it was achieved !

  2. That’s a great image! Frozen movement! I’m not too sure about borders. Sometimes I think I should add a simple thickish black border to my images, just to help offset them from the white background, but then I never end up doing it.

    • Thanks Steve. Just realized that the border I added is almost a phantom one because of my theme background being white :)

      I think on a case by case basis , some photographs are definitely much more presentable with a good choice of border. The key is good borders because a bad border brings down the photograph along with it.

Leave a Reply

