Rockscape, Valley of Fire

afternoon light on the sandstone rocks in the colorful and picteresque Valley of Fire, Nevada | ThanksGiving 2011.

So there is a more than decent chance that I might be able to finally do the road trip that I had been meaning to do for a while (last 2-3 years) – Driving from Seattle to Banff (& Jasper + ) during the July 4th week . I would love to hear from you if you have been there or even otherwise have any recommendations/tips. It will be a very short trip, unfortunately, but something is always better than nothing :)

It would be awesome if you happen to be there during the same time and our paths meet. Looking forward to it and hoping weather co-operates !

13 thoughts on “Rockscape, Valley of Fire

    • Thanks Mufidah. Always great to hear from you. How is your trip coming along ? ( I haven’t checked your blog very recently so I might have missed if you posted anything. Will check again very soon)

      Re: the rocks, I am beginning to notice I have a soft spot for the (hard) rocks too :)

  1. hi Abu, OH I love this rock just amazing shapes, colour and lighting here in your blog.i suggest you go to Oopoomoo.com Darwin Wiggett has e-books of places to photograph in Jasper and Banff, his work is outstanding. Otherwise, going from Banff to Jasper on the Icefields parkway is spectacular with so many stops.I fell in love with Horseshoe Lake south of Jasper and just a short hike from the parking lot. Also Tangle Falls and Wilcox Pass near the Icefields Center, Then there are all the classics; Morraine Lake , Lake Louise (in Banff National Park) and Edith Cavell (meadows, or loop to the pond), Maligne Lake, Medicine Lake, Miette Hotsprings in Jasper National Park. All those places are on my blog.i want to go that route but not sure when.Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy!

    • Thank you Jane for the recommendations. I will check out the books from Darwin Wiggett and i do remember seeing some of your earlier posts on Banff . I will check it out in more detail for inspiration :)

      I am afraid you’ve given me so many ideas and locations now, I wouldn’t want to come back ;)

Leave a Reply

