PictureLake#1

Mount Shuksan Reflection, Whatcom County, Labor Weekend 2011

so apparently this is one of the (if not the )most photographed mountain view/scene/(you get the idea) or so I was told. Having made three unsuccessful attempt to see Rainier’s reflection over the past year or so I wasn’t very optimistic about Mt Shuksan either. Its amazing having been in WA for over just about 4 years now, this was my first trip to Mt Baker area. While hurrying back to catch the sunset here, coming from Canada we wasted about 2 hours at the US Border (first waiting in the queue and later as per Murphy’s law for secondary inspection). I could not get anything satisfying at Sunset but next morning the sky had some wonderful colors (photo to be added).

I’ve three different variants (at different times of the day) and each one has something that I like (and don’t like) It will be interesting to find out which one appeals more !

#1 above is taken just after sunrise. The colors are not as dramatic as #2(to be added) but I like the composition more than #2. What i don’t like is… well how about you find out and tell me ?

15 thoughts on “PictureLake#1

  1. Pingback: PictureLake#4 « visual journey

  2. I enjoyed looking at the reflected cloud texture on the water here. If the top part of the image was not included, I would have thought it was fog drifting on the surface.

    There’s actually an interesting panorama potential here too with the light and silhouetted tree areas with the mountain in the middle.

    • That’s a very interesting observation Steven. I hadnt noticed that until i read and looked again :)

      you know i have never printed any of my photos yet. A pano for web viewing somehow doesnt look (atleast on my mediocre monitor(s)) as impressive as it does on paper. i think this is most likely why i have never tried panos yet. What do you see in a landscape that screams out pano to you ?

      • What screams pano to me (or at least a horizontal crop) is being able to simplify the image. There are a lot of great elements here, perhaps even too much for one photograph. I think you intend the mountain to be the main element/focal point, but I’m drawn to so many other aspects.

        For a horizontal pano, I’m focused on the play between the silhouette and amazing green side on the right. Maybe even bring out the green in post. With the perfect reflection, you even have the option of including or not including the reflection. And I only say pano because I know you throw away valuable pixels by doing a tight crop that may haunt you if you ever decide to print it large.

        Another crop I’m interested in is focusing on the grasses on the bottom left. That alone with the reflected cloud texture is a great picture by itself. Or even add the reflected or real dark tree section with sun into the crop. Lots of interesting photos from just this one exposure.

        • First of all thank you Steven for the effort to explain your point of view. I enjoyed reading it.

          I interpreted and broke down your arguments into what I think are essentially two different topics and I will try to address them one at a time. The first part is about your suggestion that there are multiple crops of interest that will make a compelling image on their own merit and I completely agree with you. If I had explored more then(or even if I try cropping in post processing) I might get some other interesting results. My reasons are simple. I had a picture in mind and I just sticked with it as is how it usually happens when you go to the clichéd photographic viewpoints. I find that you are more experimental and creative when you are in a new place without the usual bias of having seen previous photos constantly working on your brain. Here I had a more or less fixed goal in mind – comparing the full wide angle view at different times of the day and that influenced the decisions I made.

          The second part, if I understood correctly, when you say pano, you seem to be suggest restraining the existing photo to a more horizontal and less vertical space, which is a little different than my understanding of a screaming pano scene (horizontal) is where you have a wide expanse of interesting landscape(example) which would lose its impact if you try crops (you get other pictures, sure). There is something in that landscape that demands you to take a panorama (stitching is different than wide angle shot).In other words, if you had a wide angle lens that covers everything would that quality as a pano ?

          looks like i need to refresh and look up a few things here to get my understanding better :) Thank you !

  3. Pingback: PictureLake#3 « visual journey

    • Thanks Verena (hope I got the name correct) for stopping by and sharing your perspective on why you like #1 more than #2.You are one of the very few who chose this version over the other :)

  4. I like #2 better – the one done around dawn. This one is good but some of the detail is washed out, and the streaky clouds in sky and reflection make the photo a little too busy. #2 is simpler and more striking.

    • yeah the dynamic range at this hour was too much for the sensor to handle.although i did bracket some exposure but but somehow missed from this vantage point..the one thing i do like about it though (and the reason i have put it here) is the (serendipitous) blades of grass foreground in left diagnol leading towards the mountain…

      thanks for stoppping by and your continous appreciation Mike

  5. Pingback: PictureLake#2 « Blog Archive « visual journey

Leave a Reply

